• Captain Luther Hires

The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS), in cooperation with state and local law enforcement agencies, has organized regional Traffic Enforcement Networks around the State of Georgia.

The Southern Regional Traffic Enforcement Network (SRTEN) is one of the sixteen regional traffic enforcement networks currently servicing all 159 counties in Georgia.  SRTEN serves the twelve southern counties which are Atkinson, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Clinch, Coffee, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, and Tift.

The regional networks are open to all sworn law enforcement officers (LEO’s) and prosecutors. The networks are designed to enhance traffic enforcement activities through networking, training and legislation.  They serve as a catalyst for traffic enforcement officers to voice their concerns and share ideas with their counterparts from other agencies in their region.

Guest speakers frequently attend monthly network meetings and share their thoughts, experiences, and opinions with the network members.  These guest speakers have included state and municipal court judges, prosecutors, legislators, and Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD) representatives.